Microsoft Word - en_150126_JNCAPASV+.doc

Subaru XV and Impreza Awarded Top ASV+ Rating in

JNCAP Preventive Safety Performance Assessment

Tokyo, January 26, 2015 - Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd. (FHI), the manufacturer of Subaru automobiles, today

*1 *1

announced that the Subaru XV
and the Impreza
, equipped with Subaru's unique "EyeSight" driver assist system,


have received the top rating of Advanced Safety Vehicle-Plus (ASV+) in the JNCAP
preventive safety performance
assessment conducted by the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport (MLIT) and the National Agency for
Automotive Safety & Victims' Aid (NASVA).
The JNCAP preventive safety performance assessment involves testing two systems, the Autonomous Emergency


Braking System (AEBS)
and the Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS). The maximum number of rating points
is 40. Any vehicle earning two points or more is designated as an Advanced Safety Vehicle (ASV), and a vehicle earning 12 points or more is designated as an Advanced Safety Vehicle-Plus (ASV+). The Subaru XV and the Impreza achieved the ASV+ ratings with the highest possible score of 40 points.
The Subaru XV and Impreza are the latest models to join Subaru's lineup of the ASV+ designated vehicles which


includes the Legacy


(40 points), Outback



(40 points), Levorg


(40 points), WRX


(40 points), Forester

points), and Subaru XV Hybrid
(39.3 points). All of Subaru's EyeSight-equipped models ever tested in the
assessment so far have been awarded with the ASV+ designations - a testament to the EyeSight's strong pre-crash safety performance.
FHI is committed to offering its customers Subaru's distinctive "enjoyment and peace of mind" driving experience through the Subaru brand statement of "Confidence in Motion". Subaru will continue to enhance its active, passive, and pre-crash safety technologies under its "all-around safety" principle which underpins the enjoyment and peace of mind for all drivers and passengers.

*1: Equipped with the latest generation EyeSight ("EyeSight (ver.3)" in Japan)

*2: Japan New Car Assessment Program

*3: Test target: Vehicle

*4: Equipped with the previous generation EyeSight ("EyeSight (ver.2)" in Japan)


distributed by