Diageo announced that current non-executive director Sir John Manzoni will be appointed Chair of the Board on or around 5 February 2025 when current Chair Javier Ferrán retires from the Board. Sir John Manzoni joined the Diageo Board in October 2020, having been Chief Executive of the UK Civil Service from 2014 to 2020. He is currently Chair of FTSE-listed multinational energy business SSE plc and a non-executive director of engineering and technology business KBR Inc. He was previously a non-executive director of the multinational drinks company SAB Miller plc for 11 years from 2004 to 2015.

Earlier in his career John served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Talisman Energy, and held a number of senior executive roles at BP plc. Javier Ferrán joined the Diageo Board in July 2016 and was appointed Chair on 1 January 2017. Sir John Manzoni will also succeed Javier Ferrán as Chair of the Nomination Committee in February 2025.